The Rivertown Review Podcast
The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 57 (Essential and Secure in Place)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 57 (Essential and Secure in Place)

April 13, 2020

Never in our wildest dreams did we forsee doing a pandemic episode. We have talked a lot about history, but this time, we talk about the history we are smack in the middle of. Harold is still at work, while Megan is working from home ... and so the conversation begins.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 56 (Never heard of Marie Byrum? Well you have now)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 56 (Never heard of Marie Byrum? Well you have now)

February 13, 2020

It was 100 years ago the 19th Amendment of the U.S. Constitution was certified, finally giving women the right to vote. Did you know the first woman to vote in an election after the certification was a Hannibalian? Our guest is Jessica Jones Capparell, a history buff, a former college classmate of Megan's, and works with the League of Women Voters in Washington, D.C. How do you do a show about politics and not "get political?" Listen and find out.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 55 (We’re baaaaaack!!)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 55 (We’re baaaaaack!!)

January 29, 2020

Yes, we know it's been a looooong time since the last time we got together. This is a catch-up episode, with you and with each other. And, we'll look back at Hannibal's just concluded Bicentennial celebration. What was your favorite part of the year-long 200th birthday party?

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 54 (So, what’s been your favorite episode?)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 54 (So, what’s been your favorite episode?)

November 14, 2019

We sat down with a complete list of our episodes and marveled at all the neat people and topics we've covered. This time around, we reflect on our favorites, plus, we have updates on a couple of past guests - the Small Town Big Deal episode hosted by our new best friends, Rodney Miller and Jann Carl featuring National Tom Sawyer Days is out, and the latest on "The Wall on City Hall."

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 53 (A 30 foot tall Molly Brown??)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 53 (A 30 foot tall Molly Brown??)

October 22, 2019

Our guest is Ray Harvey, whose specialty is BIG works of art. To be more specific, he is the artist of the mural on the wall of Hannibal City Hall. This is not Ray's first Hannibal mural, and, we're told, won't be his last. The story of how the mural on, "The Wall at City Hall," came to be, is the subject on Episode 53 of Hannibal's Original Podcast.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 52 (We knew it HAD to be there somewhere)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 52 (We knew it HAD to be there somewhere)

October 9, 2019

Recently, "the discovery of a lifetime" was made in Mark Twain Cave. After decades of searching, the signature of a young Sam Clemens was found among the 250,000 names that had been scrawled on the walls of the cave over the years. Our guest is cave owner Linda Coleberd, one of those who was in on the discovery. Along with the discovery, we cover the authentication process, and how this find is only the beginning.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 51 (From Zombies to Average Joe)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 51 (From Zombies to Average Joe)

September 30, 2019

The first person to say nice things about the podcast in print was John L. Davis IV. John is our guest on our "Area 51" episode. John has written a new book, entitled, "Average Joe." It's the story of a regular guy who sees something very wrong and decides to do something about it. Our discussion covers human trafficking, standing up to the bad guys ... and zombies.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 50 (The definitive definition of Steampunk)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 50 (The definitive definition of Steampunk)

September 10, 2019

The Big River Steampunk Festival has become a Labor Day weekend tradition in Hannibal. But, just what the heck is steampunk? To find out, we went straight to the expert - the one and only Doc Phineas, who takes time out of his busy schedule (which includes prominent roles in TV shows like Pawn Stars and Mysteries of the Museum) to sit down with us.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 49 (Time capsules - a how not to guide)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 49 (Time capsules - a how not to guide)

September 4, 2019

Mary Lynne Richards is back with us. Along with her regular responsibilities with the Hannibal Parks and Recreation Department, she found herself in charge of the unearthing of the time capsule that was buried in 1969 for our sesquicentennial. We cover what they found and the lessons learned as they prepare another time capsule for the bicentennial.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 48 (What really happened to the Lost Boys?)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 48 (What really happened to the Lost Boys?)

August 16, 2019

A little over a year ago, author, investigative reporter and area native John Wingate joined us to talk about his book about The Lost Boys of Hannibal, three young men who went exploring in Hannibal's cave system in 1967 and disappeared without a trace. John is back to talk about his follow-up book, "Souls Speak." This is, frankly, a stunning and slightly troubling account of three individuals who independently shared with John their visions of what they believe really happened to the lost boys. But did it?

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App