The Rivertown Review Podcast
The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 47 (Tom & Huck … reimagined?)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 47 (Tom & Huck … reimagined?)

July 30, 2019

As we sit down for episode 47, the quadrennial Clemens Conference is taking place in Hannibal. One of the presenters for the conference is Melissa Scholes Young, an Associate Professor in the Department of Literature at American University in Washington, D.C. She is also a Hannibal native (who looks for any good excuse to come home) who wondered what the result would be to reimagine Mark Twain's classic duo of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn as women in Hannibal during the Great Flood of 1993. The result was Melissa's first novel, "Flood," first released two years ago and now out in paperback.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 46 (I bet they’ll be back)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 46 (I bet they’ll be back)

July 18, 2019

This is part two of our conversation with Rodney Miller and Jann Carl, the hosts of the TV show, "Small Town Big Deal," who were in Hannibal to tape a future episode of their show, featuring National Tom Sawyer Days. This time, we talk more about the show, and give Rodney and Jann a VERY good reason to come back to Hannibal (think Labor Day weekend).

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 45 (We call ourselves Hannabailians)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 45 (We call ourselves Hannabailians)

July 11, 2019

This time, we visit with a couple of folks who were "just passing through" for National Tom Sawyer Days. The nationally syndicated TV show "Small Town Big Deal" brought their crew to town to shoot video for a future episode. The hosts of the show, Rodney Miller and Jann Carl, sat down with us to talk about how the show came about, their first impressions of our town and what the heck do you call people from Hannibal?

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 44 (From Mark Twain to … Deviled Ham??)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 44 (From Mark Twain to … Deviled Ham??)

July 1, 2019

Did you know that what is now one of Hannibal biggest employers came to town because of one man who was a Mark Twain fan? That, some other random stuff, and a teaser alert on episode 44 of the podcast.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 43 (The lighthouse, Central Park and other things)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 43 (The lighthouse, Central Park and other things)

June 13, 2019

We cover a lot of ground in episode 43, from the spirit of the Midwest rallying to keep the rising river in check, to an update on the new "ornamental" lighthouse, to a history lesson on Hannibal's Central Park, and more.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 42 (Mark Twain helps a friend - who happens to be Ulysses S. Grant)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 42 (Mark Twain helps a friend - who happens to be Ulysses S. Grant)

May 20, 2019

You may think you know a lot about Mark Twain. But, did you know about his friendship with none other than Ulysses S. Grant? It's a story of helping a dying friend make sure his family is provided for after he's gone. Plus, we tell the story of our new artwork.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review - Episode 41 (Happy Anniversary to Us!!)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review - Episode 41 (Happy Anniversary to Us!!)

May 6, 2019

In observance of the first anniversary of the podcast, we look back at some of our favorite moments - Hannibal's early days on the western frontier with Cindy Lovell, how Don Farout was late for his own funeral at Mt. Olivet Cemetery with Donna Brown, the misconceptions about Molly Brown with Lisa Marks, and, of course, no look back would be complete without the saga of Val Kilmer.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 40 (Hannibal’s ornamental lighthouse-by request)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 40 (Hannibal’s ornamental lighthouse-by request)

April 18, 2019

We have always invited you to suggest topics to cover. This time, we fill a request for information on the history of the Mark Twain Memorial Lighthouse. Yes, we understand that you don't normally find lighthouses on rivers, but Hannibal has one. And, we're working on our third different structure in the same location. Plus, it's kinda cool that we've made it to The Big 4-0, episode-wise.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 39 (It really will eat you up!!)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 39 (It really will eat you up!!)

April 11, 2019

Whether you're a participant or a spectator, one of the highlights of Hannibal's annual National Tom Sawyer Days celebration is something called the Hannibal Cannibal. Our guest is Angie Wilcoxson, who spends this episode knocking down every excuse you might have to not run (or walk) in the Cannibal. Might this lead to your dominantly humble co-hosts being a part of the next race? Stay tuned.

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 38 (Presidents in Hannibal - current, past and wannabe)

The Hannibal Rivertown Review Podcast - Episode 38 (Presidents in Hannibal - current, past and wannabe)

March 27, 2019

Over the years, Hannibal has hosted a couple of U.S. Presidents in person, three more by remote control, one former President we're aware of and a trio of presidential nominees. And, hear how the conversation goes from presidents to ... Toto??

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App